Mexico-Audrain County Library District Minutes for Board of Trustee's Monthly Meeting August 21, 2024

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by President Sims at 10:30 a.m.

Board members present: Kathleen Robnett, Steve Sims, Sue Waechter, John Walker, Glenda Williams, and Ruth Etta Williams.

Members absent: Karen Mossman

Also present: Library Director, Christal Bruner, and Secretary to the Board, Monica Taylor.

Tax Rate Hearing:

At 10:30, President Sims stated that the tax rate hearing was open. No members of the public were present at that time. It was decided to proceed with the Board meeting, and should anyone come to discuss the tax rate, the regular Board meeting would be suspended to allow for public comments.

Public input – There was no public input on the tax rate.

Set 2025 tax rate – At the end of the meeting, hearing no public comments, Robnett made a motion to set the 2025 tax rate at \$0.2261 as calculated in the County Clerk's Proforma. Walker seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0 by roll call vote. Yes votes from Robnett, Waechter, Walker, Glenda Williams and Ruth Williams. Abstain: President Sims

Patron concerns:

Approval of bills and minutes:

Approval of June and July bills with a motion by Walker, second by R. Williams; motion passed 5-0 by roll call vote. Yes votes from Robnett, Waechter, Walker, G. Williams and R. Williams.

Abstain: President Sims

Approval of June minutes with a motion by Walker, second by Robnett; motion passed 5-0 by roll call vote. Yes votes from Robnett, Waechter, Walker, G. Williams and R. Williams. Abstain: President Sims

There were no minutes for July as no meeting was held.

Monthly Reports:

Director's Report – sent in packet

Statistical Report – sent in packet

Committee reports:

Finance/Endowment/Investment Fund Committee

Robnett and Walker

Special Committee on 501c3 Foundation

Robnett and Walker

Walker made a motion to retire this committee, second by Robnett; motion passed 5-0 by roll call vote. Yes votes from Robnett, Waechter, Walker, G. Williams and R. Williams. Abstain: President Sims

Property/Equipment/Building Committee

Waechter

The Mexico parking lot repairs will be completed on the weekend of August 31st.

Personnel Committee

Mossman, G. Williams, R. Williams

The committee recommended that starting on 1/1/2025, all 5-year staff work anniversaries (5, 10, 15, 20, etc) be acknowledged with the staff member receiving a half-day off with pay at a time that is convenient to the library within 30 days of their anniversary. Waechter moved to accept the committee's recommendation, R. Williams seconded; motion passed 5-0 by roll call vote. Yes votes from Robnett, Waechter, Walker, G. Williams and R. Williams. Abstain: President Sims

Unfinished business: None.

New business:

Selection of Officers for 2024-2025:

There was discussion regarding officers for the coming year. President Sims suggested that the officers remain the same and noted that a new Vice-President is needed. Robnett made a motion that Ruth Etta Williams become the Vice-President and all other officers remain in the same position, G. Williams seconded; motion passed 5-0 by roll call vote.

Yes votes from Robnett, Waechter, Walker, G. Williams and R. Williams. Abstain: President Sims

President: Steve Sims

Vice-President: Ruth Etta Williams Treasurer: Kathleen Robnett Secretary: Glenda Williams

Committee Member Assignment for 2024-2025:

Committee members for the 2024-2025 term were assigned by Board President, Steve Sims, as follows:

Finance/Endowment/Investment Fund Committee: Robnett and Walker

Property/Equipment/Building Committee: Waechter and our next new Board member

Personnel Committee: Mossman, Glenda Williams and Ruth Williams

Staff concerns: None.

Other: Tax Rate Hearing

Public input – There was no public input on the tax rate.

Set 2025 tax rate – At the end of the meeting, hearing no public comments, Robnett made a motion to set the 2025 tax rate at \$0.2261 as calculated in the County Clerk's Proforma. Walker seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0 by roll call vote. Yes votes from Robnett, Waechter, Walker, Glenda Williams and Ruth Williams. Abstain: President Sims

President Sims signed the Proforma Summary Page which Taylor will deliver to the County Clerk immediately following the meeting.

Adjournment:

The meeting was adjourned at 11:18 a.m. with a motion by R. Williams, second by Waechter; motion passed 6-0 by roll call vote. Yes votes from Robnett, Sims, Waechter, Walker, G. Williams and R. Williams.

Next meeting:

The next regular meeting will be at 10:30 a.m., Wednesday, September 18th at the Vandalia Library.